A Most Useful Cozy

A lovely spring day to you, my colleagues.  As promised, I have treat for you today!  You may recall Miss O’ Hare mentioning a favorite tea cozy of hers, yes?  Well, while investigating the trunk a short while back, I found none other than that very cozy (or one in the same pattern) along with her knitting instructions!  As you might imagine they were a little worse for the wear after so many years, and the notes needed some modernization, so I handed them off to a dear knitter friend Aimee Skeers to touch up.  She did an outstanding job, and I’m thrilled to share this lovely Mischief Recreation Artifact with you!  It’s both adorable and quite ingenious, much like its creator.  Here are her original notes on the clever design:

From Miss Anna Roisin O’Hare to the Ladies of Mischief:

Dear friends, I know you will appreciate the difficulties of keeping one’s tea piping hot and one’s teapot protected when one lives a lifestyle such as ours. Fed up with other cozies, I set out to design one that would fulfill my needs. With this clever little thing I can pour my tea without removing the cozy, while the lacing allows me easy access to the top of the pot for brewing. It can be left on at all times, as well, in order to protect the pot when turbulence rattles the dirigible. On my last trip to the Arabias I found my inspiration for the pattern. I do so love to look at the cozy and remember my travels while I have a cup of tea.

View the pattern on Ravelry or 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Scent of a Lady, pt 2 « The Ladies of Mischief
  2. ʚϊɞ Rachel Watson
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 23:23:52

    So far I love this pattern, but I do have a couple of questions. On rows 5, 7, and 10 he pattern does not say to knit the last stitch. I am under the assumption that I am supposed to so I have been, but I wanted to double check. And i am rather stumped with row 13. when looking at the picture I don’t see the st that is supposed to be passed over, I will try and figure this out, but if I can get some insight it would be helpful.

    Reply

  3. Aimee S
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 08:46:29

    It is hard to answer the question of what you’re doing with the last stitch on 5, 7, and 10 without looking at it and comparing it to ours, so if you like how it’s turning out keep doing it the way you’re doing it.

    With row 13 you’re working a centered double decrease. The “sl1, k2tog, psso” should be considered one stitch, essentially.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

